Kim Myhr

Composer and guitarist Kim Myhr has been one of the leading voices in the Norwegian experimental music scene in recent years. His music can be described as an orchestral exploration of the 12-string guitar.

Myhr has released a number of solo records, such as the all-acoustic “All your limbs singing” (2014). Since then he has included electric guitars and electronics in both his solo music and various other projects. MOJO wrote about his 2016 solo release “Bloom”: “a trance state between the acoustic and the electronic, where an alchemical late-hours lyricism is born”. In 2017 he released “You | me”, which featured contributions from drummers Tony Buck, Hans Hulbækmo and Ingar Zach. The record received a “Honorary Mention” at Nordic Music Prize in 2018, and was widely praised in the press.

Myhr is an active composer and regularly writes music for chamber ensembles, electroacoustic settings and various theatrical projects. He co-wrote “In the end his voice will be the sound of paper” with Jenny Hval, for Trondheim Jazz Orchestra in 2012. In June 2018, Myhr premiered a new work for Australian Art Orchestra at Melbourne Jazz Festival called “Vesper”. This music will be released on Hubro in 2020.


Date: 23 November (Saturday), 20:00
Location: Slaktkyrkan (Styckmästargatan 10, Stockholm)

>> Website
>> Soundcloud
>> Twitter
>> Facebook
>> Instagram
>> Spotify