Claudia Molitor

Claudia Molitor is a composer, artist and improvising pianist, whose work draws on traditions of music and sound art but also extends to video, performance and fine art practices. Exploring the relationships between listening and other senses, as well as embracing collaboration as compositional practice, is central to this work. Her recent work includes ”Sonorama” with Electra Productions, Turner Contemporary and the British Library, which received a British Composer Award in 2016, ”Vast White Stillness” for Spitalfields Festival and Brighton Festival, ”The Singing Bridge”, installed at Somerset House and Waterloo Bridge during Totally Thames festival and ”Walking with Partch” for Ensemble Musikfabrik at hcmf//.

Claudia Molitor’s “Decay” is a musical project that reflects back on life by existing as a constant work-in-progress. Unfinished, each performance connects with the last, providing a meditation on the slow-releasing transformations that exist in all cases of life. Molitor invited Tullis Rennie to collaborate for every concert. Tullis Rennie is a composer, improvising trombonist, electronic musician, and field recordist. His work encompasses sound installation, community-engaged participative projects, multi-channel concert works, video, mixed media and live/improvised performances.

Each performance also involves a guest artist who, in their way, becomes an “author” of the piece, altering its course and leaving a mark on its timeline. For Sound of Stockholm they invited experimental violinist George Kentros to be part of the creative collaborative process.


Date: 22 November (Friday), 19:30
Location: Fylkingen (Torkel Knutssonsgatan 2, Stockholm)

>> Website
>> Twitter
>> Tullis Rennie
>> Spotify